Create an home page whose content comes from "partial" file stored in the content folder

Hello there,
I’m fairly new to Hugo and I was wondering whether the following scenario is manageable with this platform.

I have my home page, which need 5 blocks, but each of them represents a piece of content that should be editable in a simple way.
Can I write a function and pass some arguments, one of these the path to an .md file in a content folder to be included (once processed)?

Thanks
Andrea

Yes, it’s possible. There’s at least a couple of ways to do it, but it’s probably best if you put these things in their own section (content/front/front*.md). If you can iterate over the 5 blocks of content, then create your homepage to iterate over only the content from that section (I do that for my blog section).

If you can’t iterate over that section, I would still put the content in its own section, but you will have to use range to select each content section.

I would make sure that the front section has empty list.html and single.html implementations—that way they can’t be shown on their own; they will still show up in the sitemap and RSS feeds, though, so you may need to make sure that you modify the default feed formats.

Hi @halostatue

thanks for the advice.
Surely I will separate my HP content to make it clear this is something different than an article or a post.

What it is not clear from you answer is whether I have to use some special Hugo function or using some system call. Which is the case?
I’d appreciate a code snippet if you can, so I can understand the intricacies of Hugo.

As for the list and single, thanks again for the suggestion. Would an empty file prevent Hugo to generate the 5 files at all, or those will be in any case converted in an HTML file that is later saved in the public folder?

Thanks
Andrea

I do this, after a fashion, in my theme cabaret, in that I have site filtering. With my configuration, layouts/partials/list/filtered.html acts like: